logo
de en

2010 Copenhagen

Already in the autumn of 2009, I was asked by the Lego Group to create building instructions for a very large mosaic for the 2nd Lego World in Copenhagen in February 2010 and to attend the mosaic building process. On 13. November 2009 I completed the plans and we are able to order the bricks. On 16. February 2010 I flew from Stuttgart to Hamburg. Thomas kindly drove me by car to Copenhagen the next day.

Building up

We arrived at around noon at the Bella Center in Copenhagen. Most exhibitors were already busily engaged in construction. Jan, Thomas and I picked up the pallets for the mosaic and paved the fence, etc. for the next day.

Bella Center / Youth hostel

After completing the construction, I moved into my hostel room. The hostel was in view of the Bella Center and was very modern and comfortable. The Bella Center and Youth hostel were just a few minutes away from Copenhagen city center (by metro).

Mosaic

During the four days I built the world's largest Lego mosaic together with Thomas Wesselski, Jan Beyer, Caspar Jensen Bennedsen, Marion and Andreas Oppermann, some members of Byggepladen and approximately 500 children plus parents. Here are some data:

Thursday Evening

On Thursday evening we first went into the steakhouse into Fields (the largest shopping center in Scandinavia). Then Klaas, Caspar, Stefan, Warren and I went on the Metro to downtown to Nyhavn (an old sailor's tavern). From there we went to an Irish pub and later on into Sam's karaoke bar. No one of us will forget the snowball fight at the Copenhagen Town Hall Square.

VIPs

There were also some important visitors at the Lego World. The following pictures show for example the former CEO of LEGO Group Kjeld Kirk Kristiansen, the Crown Prince Frederik André Henrik Christian of Denmark and his wife Mary Elizabeth with their children. In addition you can see the project manager of the Lego World Annette Sørensen, the Lego Country Manager of Denmark Peter Søgaard and the head of the Lego fan area Svend Erik Saksun.

Exhibition Pictures: Lego Fans

You could find models from nearly 40 Danish, German and Dutch Lego fans in the 1,100 sqm Lego fan area.

Friday Evening

On Friday evening was the AFOLs evening in the hostel. In addition to the common meals there were some funny games and to finish off the evening some of us had some beers in our youth hostel room.

Exhibition Pictures: Lego

Of course the Lego Group had established countless stalls, attractions and play areas on the Lego World. Boredom could not even arise.

Charity-Duck

On the whole Lego World, the children were able to collect individual bricks and assemble them into a Charity Duck. For each Charity Duck the Lego Group will send a fixed quantity of Lego bricks to poorer children in Africa. Thomas and I wanted to increase this amount significantly.

Saturday Evening

On Saturday evening all exhibitors met for the common rice table meal in the restaurant Galathea Kroen. After that some even went into the famous infamous Rosie McGee's for a couple of drinks. At 23 a’clock Rosie McGee's transforms from a bar into a nightclub.

Farewell

For a farewell gift we got a Toy Story set along with some personal words from Annette Sørensen, Peter Søgaard and Svend Erik Saksun.

Last modified on 2010/03/02 - Copyright 2000-2015 - Tobias Reichling

XHTML 1.0 Validator, CSS Validator, optimal representation in Mozilla Firefox

logo
de en

2010 Kopenhagen

Bereits im Herbst 2009 wurde ich von Lego darum gebeten, Baupläne für ein sehr großes Mosaik für die 2. Lego World in Kopenhagen im Februar 2010 zu entwerfen und den Mosaikaufbau zu begleiten. Am 13. November 2009 waren die Pläne fertig gestellt und die Steine konnten geordert werden. Am 16. Februar flog ich dann von Stuttgart nach Hamburg zu Thomas, der mich freundlicherweise am nächsten Tag mit dem Auto nach Kopenhagen mitnahm.

Aufbau

Wir trafen gegen Mittag im Bella Center in Kopenhagen ein. Die meisten Aussteller waren bereits fleißig mit dem Aufbau beschäftigt. Jan, Thomas und ich suchten die Paletten fürs Mosaik zusammen und bereiteten die Absperrung, etc. für den nächsten Tag vor.

Bella Center / Jugendherberge

Nach dem Aufbau bezog ich mein Quartier in der Jugendherberge. Diese lag in Sichtweise des Bella Centers und war für eine Jugendherberge sehr modern und komfortabel. Bella Center und Jugendherberge waren nur wenige Minuten mit der Metro vom Stadtzentrum Kopenhagen entfernt.

Mosaik

Während der vier Ausstellungstage habe ich mit Thomas Wesselski, Jan Beyer, Caspar Jensen Bennedsen, Marion und Andreas Oppermann, einigen Mitglieder von Byggepladen sowie ca. 500 Kindern nebst zugehörigen Eltern das derzeit wohl weltgrößte Lego Mosaik gebaut. Hier einige Daten:

Donnerstagabend

Am Donnerstagabend ging es zuerst ins Steak House ins benachbarte Fields (das größte Shopping Center in ganz Skandinavien). Anschließend fuhren Klaas, Caspar, Stefan, Warren und ich noch mit der Metro in die Innenstadt, genauer gesagt zum Nyhavn in eine alte Seemannskneipe. Von dort aus ging es noch zu einem Irish Pub und später noch in Sams Karaokebar. Die Schneeballschlacht auf dem Kopenhagener Rathausplatz wird wohl auch so schnell niemand vergessen.

VIPs

Zwischendurch gab es auch hohen Besuch auf der Lego World. Auf den Fotos zu sehen sind z.B. der ehemalige Geschäftsführer der Lego Gruppe Kjeld Kirk Kristiansen, der Kronprinz Frederik André Henrik Christian von Dänemark nebst Frau Mary Elisabeth und Kindern. Außerdem zu sehen sind die Projektmanagerin der Lego World Annette Sørensen, der Lego Country Manager von Dänemark Peter Søgaard sowie der Leiter des Lego Fan Bereichs Svend Erik Saksun.

Ausstellungsfotos: Lego Fans

Auf der knapp 1.100 qm großen Fan Fläche hatten die Modelle von knapp 40 dänischen, deutschen und niederländischen Lego Fans platz.

Freitagabend

Am Freitagabend war Afols-Abend in der Jugendherberge. Neben dem gemeinsamen Essen gab es ein paar lustige Spiele und zum Ausklang des Abends fanden sich einige dann noch in unserem Jugendherbergszimmer ein.

Ausstellungsfotos: Lego

Die Lego Gruppe selbst hatte natürlich unzählige Stände, Attraktionen und Spielbereiche auf der Lego World aufgebaut. Langeweile konnte hier gar nicht erst aufkommen.

Charity-Duck

Auf der gesamten Lego World konnten die Kinder einzelne Bausteine sammeln und zu einer Charity Duck zusammensetzen. Für jede Charity Duck schickt die Lego Gruppe eine festgelegte Menge Lego Steine an ärmere Kindern nach Afrika. Thomas und ich wollten diese Menge noch einmal signifikant erhöhen.

Samstagabend

Am Samstag trafen sich alle Aussteller zum gemeinsamen Reistafel essen im Restaurant Galathea Kroen. Anschließend gingen einige noch auf ein paar Drinks ins berühmt berüchtigte Rosie McGee’s, was sich pünktlich um 23 Uhr von der netten Bar in einen Nachtclub verwandelt.

Abschied

Zum Abschied gab es neben einem Toy Story Set auch noch ein paar persönliche Worte von Annette Sørensen, Peter Søgaard und Svend Erik Saksun.

Letzte Änderung am 02.03.2010 - Copyright 2000-2015 - Tobias Reichling

XHTML 1.0 Validator, CSS Validator, optimale Darstellung im Mozilla Firefox